Andorra (officially the Principality of Andorra) is a sovereign landlocked microstate on the Iberian Peninsula, in the eastern Pyrenees, bordered by France to the north and Spain to the south. The present principality was formed by a charter in 1278. It is known as a principality as it is a diarchy headed by two princes: the Bishop of Urgell in Catalonia, Spain, and the President of the French Republic. Andorra is a parliamentary co-principality with the president of France and the Catholic bishop of Urgell (Catalonia, Spain) as co-princes. This peculiarity makes the president of France, in his capacity as prince of Andorra, an elected monarch, although he is not elected by a popular vote of the Andorran people. The politics of Andorra take place in a framework of a parliamentary representative democracy.

Andorra is the sixth-smallest nation in Europe, having an area of 468 square kilometres and a population of approximately 77,006. It’s official language is Catalan. The mainstay of the highly-prosperous economy is tourism, accounting for about 80% of GDP.

Andorra is not a member of the European Union, but the euro is its official currency. It has been a member of the United Nations since 1993. Fun Facts: Andorra la Vella is the highest capital city in Europe and people in Andorra have the highest european life expectancy.

Border facts: Andorra is bordered by France to the north and Spain to the south and therefore has 2 tripoints with the other 2 countries.

Andorra – French border extends for 63.7 km in southern France (Ariège and Pyrenees-Orientales départements) and northern and north-eastern Andorra. The border’s western extremity starts at the western Andorra–Spain–France tripoint ADESFRw, located at the summit of the Pic de Médécourbe. It then follows a general north-east direction before switching south-eastwards to the eastern Andorra–Spain–France tripoint ADESFRe.

Andorra is not a member of the EU, but enjoys a special relationship with it and uses the euro. There are full, stringent passport checks at the border, as Andorra is neither in the Schengen Area nor in the European Union. The border follows traditional divisions and has only recently been officially demarcated with border markers at L’Estany de les Abelletes (report here).

Andorra -Spain border is 64 km long between the south of Andorra and Catalonia, northern Spain. Because both Spain and Andorra are situated in the same watershed, travel is easier (roads are better) than travel between Andorra and France. The most used languages of Andorra are also Catalan and Spanish. The border begins in the west at the Andorra-France-Spain tripoint ADESFRw. It then follows a generally south-eastern direction, later turning northeast to the eastern Andorra-Spain-France tripoint ASESFRe. The border between the two countries goes through high mountain areas in the  Pyrenees.

Andorran Tripoints

1ADESFReAndorra – France – Spain (E)Dry42°30’09″N
Berns (2004)
Palmberg (2016)
2ADESFRwAndorra – France – Spain (W) Dry42°36’07″N
Berns (2004)

Site Navigation

In order to find your way around the site, either click on the links (text in red) or use the menus at the top and side of the pages. About leads you to the main areas of the site. The European Tripoints menu leads directly you to my TP visits reports whereas the Country Visits page allows you to choose which country to look at first

Mobile Advice

Tables display correctly when holding your mobile horizontally.

To access the links to other pages please click on the 3 horizontal dots at the bottom of the page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s